Suresh - Knowledge Sharing
Follow Suresh on Twitter
Indian Cricketers Salary

Do you know what is the income of Indian Cricketers?

Following are the players offered central contracts by BCCI (2010-2011)

Grade A: Retainership Fees Rs 1 crors
Players in Grade A: Sachin Tendulkar, M S Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, V V S Laxmam, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Sing, Zaheer Khan.

Grade B: Retainership Fees Rs 50 Lakh
Players in Grade B: Yuvraj Singh, Ishant Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Praveen Kumar, Virat Kohli, M Vijay, Pragyan Ojha.

Grade C: Retainership Fees Rs 25 Lakh
Players in Grade C: S Sreesanth, Amit Mishra, R Ashwin, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Abhimanyu Mithun, Vinay Kumar.

In addition to the Retainership fees players playing XI will also be paid the following:

Fees per Test Match – Rs 7 Lakh
Fees per ODI (One Day International) – Rs 4 Lakh
Fees per T20 Match – Rs 2 Lakh
Cricket Trivia

In Cricket, early bowlers would bowl underarm. In fact, overarm bowling was initially illegal. It was introduced to cricket by a cricketer from Kent- John Willes. He learnt it from his sister, Christina Willes, who found her skirt was getting in the way when she tried to bowl underarm!

It has been said that Cricket has been traced to shepherds in England who started playing the early forms of cricket sometime in the 17th century. Apparently, these shepherds would bat in-front of a tree stump, hence the term 'stumps'. As the game progressed, it was at times played in front of a wicket-gate - which led to the term 'wickets'.

The first international cricket match was held between the US and Canada in 1844. The match was played in New York and Canada won by 23 runs.

West Indies legend Vivian Richards is the only player who had played both FIFA World Cup and ICC World Cup. Richards represented Antigua in football and West Indies in cricket.

Indian opener Sunil Gavaskar batted through the full 60 overs in the opening match of 1975 World Cup against England at Lord's to score just 36 runs.

One of the greatest knocks of World Cup history, Kapil Dev's 175 against Zimbabwe during 1983 World Cup, was neither recorded nor broadcasted because the BBC cameramen were on strike at the time.

Australian seamer Glenn McGrath (71) is the highest wicket-taker in World Cups so far.

West Indies batting great Vivian Richards scored 1013 runs in 23 World Cup innings, at an average of 63.31, with a strike rate of 85. The 138 he scored against England in the 1979 World Cup is considered by Wisden as the best World Cup innings.

Herschelle Gibbs smeared the Dutch leg-spinner Dan van Bunge for six sixes in an over in the 2007 World Cup to become the first to achieve the feat in an ODI.

Australia is the only team thus far in the history of World Cup to remain undefeated throughout the World Cup (in both 2003 and 2007 World Cups).

The 1992 World Cup co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand was the first World Cup in which white cricket balls and coloured team uniforms were introduced.

Sri Lanka became the first side batting second to win the World Cup when they beat Australia in the 1996 World Cup final.

Sunil Gavaskar's only ODI century came off 85 balls and it came in the same match in which Chetan Sharma took the World Cup's first hat-trick.

Here you can read General Knowledge, Interesting Facts, Tamil, English, Download Tamil books, quiz, play games, read story and much more fun...